WVSOM faculty member nominated for State Teaching Award.
Article Type: Report
Subject: College teachers (Achievements and awards)
Universities and colleges (West Virginia)
Universities and colleges (Officials and employees)
Pub Date: 03/01/2010
Publication: Name: West Virginia Medical Journal Publisher: West Virginia State Medical Association Audience: Academic Format: Magazine/Journal Subject: Health Copyright: COPYRIGHT 2010 West Virginia State Medical Association ISSN: 0043-3284
Issue: Date: March-April, 2010 Source Volume: 106 Source Issue: 2
Topic: Event Code: 540 Executive changes & profiles
Product: Product Code: 8220000 Colleges & Universities NAICS Code: 61131 Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools SIC Code: 8221 Colleges and universities
Geographic: Geographic Scope: West Virginia Geographic Code: 1U5WV West Virginia
Accession Number: 223908183

A WVSOM faculty member has been nominated for the West Virginia 2009 Professor of the Year award.

Judith Maloney, Ph.D., associate professor of Biomedical Science, is among five finalists for the Professor of the Year awarded by the Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia. The Foundation selects a Professor of the Year annually from nominees submitted by West Virginia colleges and universities.

On March 3, the finalists will be honored at a Governor's Mansion reception followed by dinner at the Culture Center in Charleston. The 2009 Professor of the Year will be announced during the dinner.

The Faculty Merit Foundation was created in 1984 to provide a means to recognize and reward innovation and creativity among the faculties of West Virginia's public and private colleges and universities. Through the Professor of the Year program, the outstanding achievements of those individuals are brought to the attention of the general public.

A $10,000 cash award and trophy is given to the candidate selected as Professor of the Year, with smaller awards to the other finalists. The four other finalists are: Carolyn Peludo Atkins, Ph.D., speech pathology and audiology professor, West Virginia University; Robert Scott Beard, Ph.D., music professor, Shepherd University; Bonita Lawrence, Ph.D., mathematics professor, Marshall University; and Brian W. Moudry, Ph.D., math, physics and computer science professor, Davis & Elkins College.
Gale Copyright: Copyright 2010 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.