Tennessee Nurse receives International Red Cross Florence Nightingale Medal.
Subject: Nurses (Achievements and awards)
Pub Date: 06/22/2010
Publication: Name: Tennessee Nurse Publisher: Tennessee Nurses Association Audience: Academic Format: Magazine/Journal Subject: Health care industry Copyright: COPYRIGHT 2010 Tennessee Nurses Association ISSN: 1055-3134
Issue: Date: Summer, 2010 Source Volume: 73 Source Issue: 2
Topic: Event Code: 540 Executive changes & profiles
Product: Product Code: 8043100 Nurses; 9139350 American Natl Red Cross NAICS Code: 621399 Offices of All Other Miscellaneous Health Practitioners; 92313 Administration of Human Resource Programs (except Education, Public Health, and Veterans' Affairs Programs)
Organization: Organization: American Red Cross
Persons: Named Person: Whaley, Diana
Geographic: Geographic Scope: United States Geographic Code: 1USA United States
Accession Number: 229860986
Full Text: Diana Whaley, BSN, RN, Tennessee Nurse Liaison, American Red Cross, participated in a commemorative global service held at the Washington National Cathedral on April 25 as she was one of three U.S. recipients of the 2009/10 International Red Cross Florence Nightingale Medal. The prestigious event was held to celebrate the life and accomplishments of Florence Nightingale, the "Lady with the Lamp," whose pioneering approach laid the foundation for the modern profession of nursing. The Rev. Gwendolyn Tobias, a priest associate at the Cathedral and a former nurse, acknowledged the three from the podium.

These three distinguished nurses represent the thousands of nurses and nursing students serving their communities as Red Cross volunteers. ARC nurses respond to disaster, teach life-saving health and safety classes, serve on leadership committees, and more. It reflects a tradition of nursing service stretching back to the earliest days of the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Network.

The Florence Nightingale Medal is awarded by the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) to up to 50 qualified nurses worldwide every two years who are active members or regular helpers of a National Red Cross or Red Crescent Society, or of an affiliated medical or nursing institution. The Medal--the highest international distinction that can be awarded to a nurse--honors exceptional courage and devotion to caring for the victims of armed conflict or other disasters, or exemplary services and a creative and pioneering spirit of public health or nursing education.

The 2009/10 nurse recipients of the 42nd Florence Nightingale Medal join 60 distinguished U.S. nursing leaders who have received the Medal since its first presentation in 1920.

The occasion at the National Cathedral was a special one because 2010 marks the centennial of the death of Florence Nightingale. This special global service celebrating nursing was a collaboration among three organizations including the Nightingale Initiative for Global Health, Sigma Theta Tau International and the Florence Nightingale Museum in London. The International Year of the Nurse celebrates practicing nurses, midwives and healthcare workers committed to service for the people in their communities and achieving a healthy world.

Whaley, a National Disaster Health Services manager from the Knoxville Red Cross, has volunteered in more than 23 major disasters in several different parts of the world. She also has volunteered with the "Voice of Children" for the last 12 years. The organization oversees four schools, combined with six churches and three orphanages in Haiti, in addition to sponsoring medical clinics there throughout the year.

After the devastating earthquake on January 12, 2010, Whaley traveled to Haiti three times to help with the recovery efforts which are still ongoing. She was on the USNS Comfort hospital ship in Port au Prince, and then worked with the International Medical Corps doing clinics before going back with VOC in May. "Haiti is my passion," she said. "Working with the people and the children there gives nursing a real purpose and meaning."

Gale Copyright: Copyright 2010 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.