Leader Margaret Bazley honoured.
Article Type: Brief article
Subject: Nurses (Achievements and awards)
Pub Date: 08/01/2011
Publication: Name: Kai Tiaki: Nursing New Zealand Publisher: New Zealand Nurses' Organisation Audience: Trade Format: Magazine/Journal Subject: Health; Health care industry Copyright: COPYRIGHT 2011 New Zealand Nurses' Organisation ISSN: 1173-2032
Issue: Date: August, 2011 Source Volume: 17 Source Issue: 7
Product: Product Code: 8043100 Nurses NAICS Code: 621399 Offices of All Other Miscellaneous Health Practitioners
Persons: Named Person: Bazley, Margaret C.
Geographic: Geographic Scope: New Zealand Geographic Code: 8NEWZ New Zealand
Accession Number: 266344836
Full Text: Former nurse, distinguished public servant and patron of the Nursing Education and Research Foundation, Dame Margaret Bazley, was awarded New Zealand's premier leadership honour, The Blake Medal, last month. The award was presented to her by Governor General the Rt Hon Sir Anand Satyanand at the Sir Peter Blake leadership awards at Government House in Wellington.

Bazley is the chair of Environment Canterbury, the former chair of the New Zealand Fire Service Commission and a member of the Waitangi Tribunal. She is the sixth recipient of The Blake Medal.

Chair of the selection panel, Sir Ron Carter, said Dame Margaret's successful leadership of a number of important national committees, working parties and commissions caps her significant contribution in the realms of health, transport, state services and social welfare.

"Dame Margaret's leadership has transformed public policy and administration in New Zealand. She is seen to be people-focused, someone who listens to others, has determination to do the right thing and does not shy away from tough calls."


Bazley said she felt very honoured to be a recipient of the award. "Being the first woman to receive it also makes it very special. The awards are a wonderful way of recognising and remembering Sir Peter Blake's achievements," she said.

Other leaders on the Blake honour roll are Sir Ray Avery, Dr John Hood, Sir Murray Halberg, Professor Paul Callaghan, Sir Stephen Tindall and Sir John Anderson. The Sir Peter Blake leadership awards were established in 2005 to inspire and celebrate great leadership.
Gale Copyright: Copyright 2011 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.