Formation of the Emergency Nurses Society of South Africa (ENSSA).
Article Type: Report
Subject: Medical societies (Membership)
Nurses (Recruiting)
Web sites (Evaluation)
Author: Brysiewicz, P.
Pub Date: 07/01/2010
Publication: Name: Southern African Journal of Critical Care Publisher: South African Medical Association Audience: Academic Format: Magazine/Journal Subject: Health Copyright: COPYRIGHT 2010 South African Medical Association ISSN: 0038-2469
Issue: Date: July, 2010 Source Volume: 26 Source Issue: 1
Topic: Event Code: 280 Personnel administration Computer Subject: Company Web site/Web page; Industry hiring
Product: Product Code: 8622000 Medical Associations; 8043100 Nurses NAICS Code: 81392 Professional Organizations; 621399 Offices of All Other Miscellaneous Health Practitioners SIC Code: 8621 Professional organizations
Geographic: Geographic Scope: South Africa Geographic Code: 6SOUT South Africa
Accession Number: 236633723
Full Text: We are proud to announce the formation of the first emergency nurses' society in South Africa. The society was established during the 2nd EMSSA 'Emergency Medicine in the Developing World' Conference held on 24-26 November 2009 at the Cape Town International Conference Centre, an achievement made possible by the efforts of a number of dedicated emergency nurses throughout South Africa and considerable support from the Emergency Medicine Society of South Africa (EMSSA).

ENSSA has been established as a separate organisation under the auspices of EMSSA, and it will strive to develop and promote emergency nursing in South Africa through leadership, education, collaboration and practice development and research.

ENSSA will accept as members any nurses (registered or enrolled with the South African Nursing Council) who are involved in emergency care. Nurses from outside South Africa are also welcome to join. Membership of ENSSA can be attained through joining EMSSA.

The current ENSSA Executive Committee consists of 6 people who will be responsible for the development of this society over the next two years. They are Petra Brysiewicz (Chair), Tanya Heyns (Vice-Chair), Jean Augustyn (Secretary), and Gayle Partridge, Celia Embleton and Jasmin Gassiep (co-opted member).

We welcome any suggestions to assist us in the development of this organisation, and look forward to your active membership in the months and years to come. Please access our website via the Emergency Medicine Society of South Africa website at for additional details as well as information on how to join this exciting organisation!
Gale Copyright: Copyright 2010 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.