Acknowledging service to NZNO and to the profession.
Article Type: Brief article
Subject: Medical societies (Services)
Medical societies (Conferences, meetings and seminars)
Pub Date: 10/01/2010
Publication: Name: Kai Tiaki: Nursing New Zealand Publisher: New Zealand Nurses' Organisation Audience: Trade Format: Magazine/Journal Subject: Health; Health care industry Copyright: COPYRIGHT 2010 New Zealand Nurses' Organisation ISSN: 1173-2032
Issue: Date: Oct, 2010 Source Volume: 16 Source Issue: 9
Topic: Event Code: 360 Services information
Product: Product Code: 8622000 Medical Associations NAICS Code: 81392 Professional Organizations SIC Code: 8621 Professional organizations
Organization: Organization: New Zealand Nurses Organisation; New Zealand Nurses Organisation
Geographic: Geographic Scope: New Zealand Geographic Code: 8NEWZ New Zealand
Accession Number: 241179358
Full Text: Conference provides the opportunity to acknowledge NZNO activists. Those who received Service to NZNO awards at this year's conference were: Queenie Komene, nominated by the Midlands Regional Council; Denise McGurk, nominated by the Top of the South Regional Council; Gwen Ahuriri, nominated by the Bay of Plenty (BOP)/ Tairawhiti Regional Council; Carol Rielly, nominated by the BOP/Tairawhiti Regional Council; Fiona Sheppard, nominated by the Southern Regional Council; and Patricia Hurley, nominated by the Central Regional Council After hours duty manager at Tauranga Hospital, Lynne Hansen, nominated by the BOP/Tairawhiti Regional Council, and emergency department charge nurse at Dunedin Hospital, Justin Moore, nominated by the College of Emergency Nurses, were not at conference but also received this award.

Those who received Service to Nursing/ Midwifery awards were: Christine Bent, Lorraine Watts and Heather Cormack, all nominated by the Hawke's Bay Regional Council. Canterbury intensive care nurse Garry Robinson, nominated by the New Zealand Flight Nurses' Association, also received the award. None of these nurses attended conference but will be presented with their awards in their regions.
Gale Copyright: Copyright 2010 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Previous Article: Honouring our leaders.
Next Article: Fees set to rise.